I Wouldn’t Mind a Snow Storm

I miss the snow. I miss throwing snow balls, aiming at people’s faces. I miss night skiing on ski hills . I miss winter clothing and white Christmases.

Here in Wellington, New Zealand, winter comes with cold winds and rain, but rarely snow.

In a freak storm four years ago, it DID snow in Wellington. It was a miracle. Before that day in April 2011, the last time snow fell on Wellington soil was 30 years ago!

The days on which it snowed, people flipped out over the 1 centimeter of snow that gathered on the ground. Schools were shut and people were advised not to drive in these unfamiliar driving conditions. The snow lasted only two days. North Americans would have rolled their eyes.

I have not given up on my dream of being reunited with snow. Until I move to a region which experiences snow fall, I will pray for snow to come to Wellington once again.

Leave a Reply

