Advice to a First Year

Reflecting back on my second year, which was last year, I remembered the advice I gave to my friend who had just begun her first year at university.

I gave her the advice that my parents gave me:

“Try lots of new things at university”

On second thought, I am 98% sure my parents were talking about taking different classes at university rather than trying drugs and alcohol. Anyway, that’s just the way I interpreted it.

When I began university, I was majoring in Classics and Media Studies. Over the course of two years, my majors changed from Classics and Film, History and International Relations.

Taking a variety of different subjects in my first and second year at university helped me discover what classes I liked, what classes I hated and what classes I enjoyed but knew would not get me anywhere in my post-university life.

I signed up to Classical Studies not even knowing what it was! I just thought it sounded interesting, and luckily, it turned out to be.

Philosophy, on the other hand, was NOT my forte. You can check out my post about this regret on https://oliviasevern.wordpress.com/2015/01/05/philosophy-is-the-questioning-of-shit/

If you are able to take a diverse selection of classes, I thoroughly encourage you to do so!

Source: Flickr

Source: Flickr

Leave a Reply

