Perks of Having a Part-Time Job

Anyone who has had a job in customer service has experienced the highs and lows that come with dealing with customers. My god, some of my experiences have been bad. Whenever I serve a rude customer, I get so down by the situation that it impacts the rest of my day. Listing a few positive aspects of my work helps me appreciate my job.

Source: Flickr

Source: Flickr

1. Money

Money is nice, isn’t it? Having a little more cash in my wallet helps. Ironically, that money is often then invested back into shops to feed my spending-the-little-that-I-have addiction.

2. Social skills

Having a job in customer service helps you develop your social skills. When I first started my job, I was quiet and shy. Well, to be truthful, I was quieter and shy. But I soon discovered that I couldn’t be so reserved as a checkout chick. Although 40% of my day consists of scanning and packing groceries, the following 60% is with customers.

Greeting and chatting with customers, pleasing those who are angry and attempting to make their grocery-store experience a good one are all in a day’s work. I have more confidence talking to strangers because of this job.

Source: Flickr

Source: Flickr

3. Friends.

Thirdly, and most importantly, part-time jobs allow you to make new friends. Looking back on my first few weeks on the job, I remember thinking that my colleagues were intimidating and strange. As months passed, I learned more about some of these people. They became less strange and more like friends.

We connected over things we had in common, in particular our hatred over the grocery store’s poorly chosen music playlist. Often after each rock song is played, one of Taylor Swift’s older tracks follows, for the third time that day. When this happens, my friends and I simply look at each other and grin. We smile to hide the pain.

We are all ambitious and down-to-earth young adults. The friends I have at work make my job enjoyable.

To any university/college/young adult thinking about getting a part-time job, I highly recommend it. Sure, without this job I wouldn’t have to deal with difficult customers but I also would never have met some of the closest friends I have today.

5 comments

  1. fromlouise · February 17, 2015

    Great post!

  2. Shannon · February 19, 2015

    I found that working with customer service doesn’t just help with being a more sociable person when it comes to strangers, but it also helped build my confidence in general. I tend to be a very quiet individual, but at my last job, I was the front office manager. I had to be sociable. LOL! Finding that people actually liked me and what I had to offer/help them with helped me come to appreciate and value myself more as an individual; it showed me that I have a unique personality and perspective, one that is completely original to myself. And people appreciate that.

  3. Pingback: Part-Time Job | FromLouise
    • oliviasev · February 27, 2015

      Wow Louise! This made my day. I appreciate it a lot and your post is great. I wish you well on your job hunt.

Leave a Reply

