Recently Acquired (Knowledge about Blogging)

After nearly two months of daily blogging and 48 published posts, I have learned much about the world of blogging. I have twisted this prompt (Recently Acquired) to include not just one blogging discovery but three.

  1. Jot every idea down. If you are anything like me, a cool idea can pop up in your head one minute but disappear as quickly as it came. It’s like walking into a room in your house for a particular reason only to forget why you went in there in the first place. I type any blogging ideas into the Notes app on my iPhone.
  2. Scratch my back. This isn’t some weird command but a discovery I have found on WordPress. I have discovered that the bloggers I follow often follow me back. When I gain new followers, I follow them back. Followers read, like and comment on my blog so I try to do the same to theirs.
  3. Photos add appeal to a post. My early posts on WordPress look uninteresting and bland without any pictures. Photographs can bring a post to life, telling a story in a way words often cannot.

I am by no means an experienced blogger and I have much to learn from blogging. However, I hope these tips can help you and your blogging journey.

9 comments

  1. ibdunn · February 17, 2015

    Good summary – I would have to say I agree with all of the above 🙂

  2. catrionamiranda · February 17, 2015

    Hey there, I enjoyed reading this as I too have learnt these things and its good to see them re-affirmed here! 🙂 I carry a notebook with me with a page specifically for blogging ideas! Keep up the good work x

    • oliviasev · February 18, 2015

      Hey Catriona! Thank you for the support, it’s much appreciated.

  3. catrionamiranda · February 18, 2015

    No problem sweet 🙂

  4. coollondon · February 20, 2015

    Your blog looks really cool. I love the title, the layout and the colour scheme. 🙂

  5. zavaraelf · March 14, 2015

    Well, point number 2 is definitely accurate! Cheers for the follow. It’s great to find another student blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

