Trick Questions

Inspired by a prompt about an article about me being written by an Pulitzer-winning reporter, here are 3 questions I hope to never be asked;

1. What are your thoughts on the current state of the global economy?

A question about the economy would leave me confused and also angry at myself for not paying more attention in my high school Economics class. My best option would be to ask the reporter what she thinks about the state of the global economy and just agree with everything that she says. If this plan fails, my nervous response would sound something like;

“The global economy … it’s … ah… it’s going good. You know, it could be better but it could be worse. There’s that stuff going on in Greece. And we’re not in a depression anymore (I think), so the economy has that going for it. Next question please.”

Source: Flickr

Source: Flickr

2. What do you plan to do after graduating from university?

Much like the opening question, I would be stumped. In this situation, I would probably divert the conversation back to talking about the global economy because I know more about the economy than what I plan to do in the future. And that is saying something.

3. What is your biggest regret?

In contrast to the first two questions, I could write a 200 page essay response to this question. There’s that time I pushed my friend in the pool which caught her by surprise and resulted in a week of silent treatment. Last year, I blurted out a stupid comment and embarrassed myself in front of 50 odd people. Oh, I cannot forget my regret about doing this interview.

I have crossed my fingers and hope that I will never be asked to respond to these these questions, although the likelihood of Question 2 coming up is great. To those who ask, I suppose I could always answer “After university, well, I plan to have your job.” This may not be an appropriate response but it will certainly shun the questioner away.

Leave a Reply

