Advice from a Newly Hatched Adult

I officially became an adult in September last year, thus I feel the need to give advice about adulthood to other adults. Well, not really. But a certain subject has been on my mind for a while and I need it removed from my brain.

Simply put, most adults have no clue where their lives are taking them.  

As a child, I thought that my parents had all of the answers. I believed that adults had all of the answers since every adult I knew seemed confident about what direction their lives were heading in. Adults tricked me.

There are a few rare adults who are like this. They know exactly what they are doing in their lives now and where they will be in 5 years. They have an array of outfits to wear tomorrow while other adults pray that their best clothes are not in the laundry. Laundry day, after all, is a dreaded day for most adults.

The majority of adults, as I have come to learn, have no freaking clue about their future. For the questions that haunt them, they simply do not have all of the answers, at least not just yet.

As a constant worrier, my mind is plagued by anxieties regarding my future. Where will I live next year? Should I do a honours degree at university? Is it time that I moved to a different city?

The most important lesson I have learned as a newly hatched adult is to take one day at a time. This life lesson is closely followed by number 2. coffee is your friend and 3. start a blog for maximized procrastination.

Fretting about my future is a pointless habit to consume myself with.

I am learning to slow down and take each day as it comes. This year, my goal is to enjoy the life I live and the people in it. My future will sort itself out.

Source: Flickr

Source: Flickr

3 comments

  1. Olivia · March 12, 2015

    I love this – exactly how I feel about 89% of the time! I have direction in my life I’m just not sure where!

  2. pasttherabbithole · April 5, 2015

    Coffee is indeed our friend, laundry day suck and my god am I procrastinating on WordPress! If I am indeed an adult, I definitely still don’t feel like one. If direction is all that it takes. I still have some work to do 😉 Nice blog!

  3. mrharrisondavis · April 5, 2015

    Heyyy, I hope you don’t mind but I have nominated your for the Liebster Award on my blog. You don’t have to accept it’s just I really enjoy your blog and it’s just a bit of fun I guess 🙂

Leave a Reply

